

THE PROGRAMME

Venue: VUB Main Campus, Pleinlaan 2, 1050 Brussels Room: Learning Theatre at the Language and Innovation Centre

10.00 - 10.30	Registration
10.30 – 11.00	Opening 10th Summer School on the Law of EU External Relations : In the interregnum - EU External Relations Law in an Era of Geopolitics Introduction by CLEER Governing Board
11.00 – 12.30	Andrea Ott Strengthening the EU's actorness in view of global developments - legal competences and external represenation
12.30 - 14.00	Lunch break
14.00 - 15.30	Ramses Wessel Increasing CFSP and CSDP Effectiveness in Times of External Challenges
15.30 – 16.00	Coffee/tea break
16.00 - 17.00	Elaine Fahey Keynote: Mapping the constitutional contours of the EU as a Global Digital Actor

Reception and drinks

23 JUNE





17.00 - 18.00

THE PROGRAMME

09.30 – 11.00	Eva Kassoti The EU and the Rules Based International Order: Territorial Disputes before the CJEU in an Era of Geopolitics
11.00 – 11.30	Coffee/tea break
11.30 – 13.00	Peter Van Elsuwege EU enlargement as a geostrategic investment: legal and political challenges
13.00 – 14.00	Lunch break
14.00 - 15.30	Eleftheria Neframi The external dimension of the European Green Deal
15.30 - 16.00	Coffee/tea break
16.00 - 17.30	Joris Larik Weaponizing Market Power: EU Trade Policy in an Era of Trade Wars
17.30 - 18.30	Merijn Chamon Mixed agreements: undermining EU autonomous action?







THE PROGRAMME

EU External Relations: A Practitioner's Perspective

9.30 - 11.00 Anders Neergaard

The European Parliament in EU external relations

11.00 - 11.30 Coffee/tea break

11.30 – 13.30 Antonios Antoniadis and Josephine Norris

Recent developments in EU external relations, Council and

Commission perspectives

13.30 - 14.30 Lunch break

15.15 - 17.45 Lóránt Havas (EEAS)

Visit to the EEAS

Role of the EEAS in EU external relations

25 JUNE







SPEAKERS

Dr. Antonios Antoniadis is member of the legal service of the Council of the

European Union.

Prof. Merijn Chamon is professor of EU law at the Vrije Universiteit Brussel and

Visiting Professor at the College of Europe (Bruges). He is

member of the Governing Board of CLEER.

Prof. Peter Van Elsuwege is professor of EU law at Ghent University, and member of

the governing board of CLEER.

Prof. Elaine Fahey is professor of EU Law at the City Law School, City St.

Georges, University of London and Deputy Head of

Department

Lóránt Havas is Deputy Head of Unit in the Legal Department of the

European External Action Service (EEAS), Brussels.

Eva Kassoti is Senior Researcher in EU and International Law at the

T.M.C. Asser Institute and the academic co-ordinator of the Centre for the Law of EU External Relations (CLEER)

Dr Joris Larik is Assistant Professor of Comparative, EU and

International Law at Leiden University. He is member of

the Governing Board of CLEER.

Anders Neergaard is Head of Unit in the Legal Service of the European

Parliament.

Prof. Eleftheria Neframi is professor of European Union law at the University of

Luxembourg. She is member of the Governing Board of

CLEER.

Josephine Norris is member of the legal service of the European Commission.

Prof. Andrea Ott is professor of EU External Relations Law and Jean

Monnet Chair in EU law at Maastricht University. She is

member of the Governing Board of CLEER.

Prof. Ramses A. Wessel is Vice Dean of the Faculty of Law, Professor of

European Law and Head of the European and Economic

Law Department at the University of Groningen. He is

member of the Governing Board of CLEER.





